Gida News NCA to shut down 49 TV stations for operating without license

NCA to shut down 49 TV stations for operating without license


The National Communications Authority (NCA) says it has embarked on an exercise to shut down 49 television (TV) stations for operating without authorisations.

This forms part of a continuous monitoring exercise conducted on various Satellite Free-to-Air Television platforms using the Broadcast Monitoring System (BMS) and the Radio Spectrum Monitoring System (RSMS).

“The monitoring revealed that some channels were operating without valid Authorisations, contrary to Section 2(4) of the Electronic Communications Act 775 of 2008, which states that, ‘Except as provided by this Act or any other law not inconsistent with this Act, a person shall not operate. a broadcasting system or provide a broadcasting service without a frequency authorisation by the Authority,’” it said in a press release.

The Authority said, as a result, 49 channels have been identified to be operating without valid authorisations and are being shut down accordingly.

Some of the stations so far include Kwaku Bonsam TV, Apple TV, Iron TV, Thunder TV, Ice1 TV, Abapa TV, Serwaa TV, Face TV, Cash TV, Lion TV, NTV, Nazareth TV among others.


Don Allah shigar da sharhinku!
Don Allah shigar da sunanka a nan